Who’s Who

Founding Sanhedrin

Dr. Lidia Matassa

Dr. Jason Silverman

Fiachra Harte

Jason McCann

Beulah Croker


Current Ruling Sanhedrin

Dr. Lidia Matassa (President)

Beulah Croker (Secretary)

Fiachra Harte (Treasurer)

Dr. Jason Silverman (Roving Ambassador)

Dr. Haydn Gurmin (Wandering Philosopher)



Prof. ADH Mayes, TCD, Emeritus (Erasmus Smith’s Professor of Hebrew)


Honorary Lifetime Members

Prof. Catherine Hezser, Professor of Jewish Studies, Centre for Jewish Studies, SOAS, London

Dr. Máire Byrne, St. Patrick’s College, Maynooth

Prof. John J. Collins, Holmes Professor of Old Testament Criticism & Interpretation at Yale Divinity School

Dr. Orit Peleg-Barkat, Lecturer, Institute of Archaeoogy, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

Prof. John Dillon, Emeritus Professor of Greek, School of Classics, Trinity College Dublin

Dr. Jonathan Stökl, Lecturer in Hebrew Bible/Old Testament, Department of Theology and Religious Studies, King’s College London

Prof. Seán Freyne, Emeritus Professor of Theology, School of Religions, TCD (RIP)


HEKHAL is sad to note the passing of one of its founder members and supporters, Seán Freyne.

Seán was Director of the Centre for Mediterranean and Near Eastern Studies, Dublin, he was Emeritus Professor of Theology in the school of Religions and Theology at Trinity College.  He was, of course, a scholar of global renown, and a true polymath, and a kind and compassionate person.

Seán was an inspiration to many of us who have been involved in and fascinated by biblical history, and for those of us whom he taught, he was an avuncular figure.

Rest in peace, Seán, you will be missed.